One Fifty

Originally published at: One Fifty -

#150: It’s our 150th episode!!! This week we talk about how sometimes it doesn’t pay to do good. Also, Josué wants a nickname for members of the community.

Questions? Comments? Discuss this episode on the GT Forum.

Notes:

00:00:00 - Intro / Hating on do-gooders

00:31:43 - Patreon ad

00:32:11 - What to call GT community members?

00:47:53 - Geek Therapy

00:54:20 - Wrap-Up

Find us at www.GeekTherapy.com | @GeekTherapy | Lara: @GeekTherapist | Lauren: @CHICKENDINOSAUR | Ali: @AliMattu | Josué: @JosueACardona

Become a member of Geek Therapy on Patreon: http://www.patreon.com/geektherapy

Ask us anything through the Question Queue and we’ll answer on the show: geektherapy.com/qq

Join the Geek Therapy mailing list: http://eepurl.com/wS4LP

A) Do Gooders
I can really relate to the do-gooder debacle. I’ve had a lot of experiences in medical school where my peers actively tell me to do a bad job on my patients because I make them look bad. I literally don’t do anything to compete above my peers, I’ve never done a gunner move. Gunner culture is very present in medical school. I actually try really hard to foster teamwork and cooperation; but I’m not gonna slack on patient care, or the time I spend with my patients just because it makes someone else look bad. I spent a lot of time in medical school trying to build programs to help early students get the hang of medical school, I started getting complaints from teachers because students stopped going to their classes. I never told the students not to go to class, but if they prefer to learn from a student than a teacher, there’s something wrong in how it’s being managed.